The Final Stretch

The track & field teams keep springing through another successful season


Photography, Tiffany Young

Vanity Tucker (11) taking off during the 400 meter race the West Frankfort track meet.

The outdoor season for the boys and girls track teams is finally underway. The boys and girls competed at the Carterville invite on April 6th, which was their first outdoor invitational of the season.


Recently, on April 15th, the girls competed at the Don Webb Invitational in Benton. There, the girls scored seventy-six and a half points and placed third out of fourteen teams. While they did face some tough competition, many new personal records were scored at this meet. Running for the 4×800 relay team was Helene Deere, Charli Elliott, Brenna Gusewelle, and Brianna Watson. Together, they placed third out of seven teams with a time of 11:00. Competing for the 4×400 team was Brianna Watson, Helene Deere, Madisyn Blankenship, and Charli Elliott, these girls placed sixth out of twelve competing teams with a time of 4:47. Madisyn Blankenship, Kylie Watkins, Anna Carlson, and Ainsley Farmer then competed in the 4×200 relay and placed twelfth out of thirteen teams with a time of 2:06. Lastly, the 4×100 team competed, with Madisyn Blankenship, Paige Wieland, Anna Carlson, and Ainsley Farmer, their team placed ninth out of eleven teams.


The boys competed in the Herrin Invitational on April 10th. The varsity boys placed fifth out of fifteen teams and the freshmen and sophomore boys placed third out of six teams. Competing in the 4×800 relay was Drew Ringle, Keaton Rosado, Lance Mattingly, and Anthony Bowling. Together, they placed fifth out of twelve teams with a time of 8:59. Running in the 4×400 was Drew Ringle, Eric Hosmon, Keagan St.Peter, and Jackson yates. The 4×400 team placed fifth out of fourteen teams with a time of 3:36. In the mens varsity 4×200 relay, Herrin placed third out of ten teams with a time of 1:35. Running in that was Tucker McVicker, Noah Gusewelle, Kaden Miles, and Riley Chrostoski. Racing in the freshmen and sophomore 4×200 was Keaton Rosado, Lance Mattingly, Kaden Miles, and Riley Chrostoski. The 4×100 team placed sixth out of sixteen teams with a time of 45.83 seconds competing in that race was Tucker McVicker, Noah Gusewelle, Eric Hosmon, Jackson Yates.


The boys and girls will be competing in the Southern Illinois River to River Conference Championship soon. The girls will be competing on May 2nd and the boys will be competing on May 9th. They will be competing against all Ohio Division teams, such as: West Frankfort, Harrisburg, Metropolis, Benton, and Murphysboro.